Home Forums WinForms controls Xceed Grid for WinForms simple databinding question

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    #13268 |

Hi Guys,

This is my first attempt to use the Xceed Grid (and in fact, I’m still very new to .NET). I’m quite impressed with the features, esp. over the basic datagrid that is shipped with .NET. Anyway, enough of that, here is my problem.

I have built a very simple form that connects to an access database (just one autonumber column and text column). I have also choosen to manually define the dataset, dataadaptor, etc so I get become more familiar with that way things are done in .NET.

It all works fine (i.e. I can update, delete and view data) however after successfully updating data – I recieve the following error:

An unhandled exception of type ‘System.InvalidOperationException’ occurred in xceed.grid.dll
    Additional information: An attempt was made to select a row that does not belong to a grid.

Any ideas guys.. I’m sure it’s something really basic, but I can’t seem to work it out. Here is the code: (Note, I’ve removed the validation code)

Dim mConn As OleDb.OleDbConnection
    Dim lcGlobalValue As cGlobalConfig

‘Project list global variable list
    Dim daProjectList As OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
    Dim dsProjectList As DataSet
    Dim cmProjectList As CurrencyManager

Private Sub frmProjects_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
    PrepareProjectListGrid()
    End Sub

#Region ” Database “

Private Sub PrepareProjectListGrid()
    Dim sSQLString

‘Firstly, define the dataadaptor, dataset and Command statements.
    ‘ —————————– Data Adaptor / Data Set —————————-
    mConn = New OleDb.OleDbConnection(lcGlobalValue.pProvider & lcGlobalValue.pDataSource)

sSQLString = ” SELECT prs_projectID, ” & _
    ” prs_name, ” & _
    ” prs_createdDate, ” & _
    ” prs_lastUpdateDate ” & _
    ” FROM tblProjectSummary_PRS “