Home Forums WPF controls Xceed DataGrid for WPF rich UI Silverlight

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    #25032 |

I am very impressed by your Datagrid for WPF ! I am an architect at organization looking for a alternative to the HTML/Javascript/CSS mess of delivering a rich WEB UI. Your tool looks like a great alternative as we can use C# on the client and server. However XBAP will be a hard sell given the requirement for .net 3.0 on the client machine and it’s IE only requirement. Silverlight looks like the next best thing but all the demos I have seen are Video and “Flash” killers. My understanding is that Silverlight is a “watereddown” version of WPF and as such can your grid run in this environent. If so we might have the answer to our GUI woes.

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by jmcfet (had 474 views)

Odi [Xceed]
    Spectator

Thanks for the praise on Xceed DataGrid for WPF.

Your main question seems to be about WPF vs. Silverlight. These are two fundamentally different beasts, though they are more related cosmetically than anything else. It is an interesting subject that has yet to reveal all its implications…

WPF is all about creating the richest possible Windows desktop application experiences, though thanks to Click-Once and XBAP, you can make deployment and maintenance a whole lot more painless than usual. It has also been out for nearly a year and is also about to receive its first major update with .NET 3.5, so it is not a v1 anymore. The keywords for WPF are Windows, Richest and Now.