Home Forums .NET libraries Xceed Zip & Real-Time Zip for .NET Zipping multiple folders with & without subfolders, incl relative paths

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    #20468 |

I’m new to Xceed Zip for .Net.

I’m looking for suggestions for the most efficient method for doing the following:
    1) There is a BaseFolder on a share.  eg \\Share1\MyDate\BaseFolder
    2) Within the BaseFolder are multiple folders,
     some of which I want to zip NOT including any subfolder   eg Folder1
     some of which I want to zip including SOME subfolders     eg Folder2\Sub1 and Folder2\Sub2, but not Folder2\Sub3
     some of which I want to zip including ALL subfolders      eg Folder3\Sub1…Sub4

3) Each file in the final archive must include its path relative to the BaseFolder
            eg BaseFolder\Folder1\File1

I have spent some time trying to create the code for this, but I feel like I’m trying to reinvent the wheel.
    I’ve looked at the sample code, but it includes only the simplest conditions.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by Steve (had 2160 views)

Xceed Support

Hi Steve,

In order to achieve this, you will need to use the CopyFilesTo method. The CopyTo method will take your BaseFolder and place it in a ZipArchive. You will not be able to filter the directory. The CopyTo folder will only be able to satisfy your third condition where you want it to include the current BaseFolder directory plus its children. As for the other conditions, you can do the following:

1) some of which I want to zip NOT including any subfolder  eg Folder1
     –> source.CopyFilesTo(zEvents, “source.CopyFilesTo”, zip, false, true, “”);

Must set the recursive property to false in your parameter list. Because you will be setting recursive to false, the CopyFilesTo will not copy the subdirectories and their files over to the ZipArchive.