Home Forums WPF controls Xceed DataGrid for WPF Trying to insert a row (noob)

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    #25461 |

Hi, I’m new to Xceed grids, still coming up from VS Flexgrid (pre .NET) from several years ago.

I am trying to insert a row with a checkbox in column 1, text in column two, and text in column 3.
    So far, I can insert a row, but I am still trying to figure out how to put content into that row. Any help would be appreciated.

ItemCollection items = gridDefaultEdit.Items;

DataRow row = new DataRow();

DataCell cell = new DataCell();

cell = new DataCell();

cell.Content = new CheckBox();

row.Cells.Add(cell);

items.Add(row);

When I execute the above, my row doesn’t appear to have a checkbox in it. I’m not even sure how to set the text in each cell yet. The XAML for my grid has several columns with headers already defined. I can post that if anyone is interested.

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by Eric (had 5063 views)

User (Old forums)

Easier to add it through adding the underlying data into the collection. The grid will update automatically.

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by nat (had 516 views)

User (Old forums)

I’m so new to this, I’m not sure what you mean by that. Am I not already adding it through the underlying data? Could you possibly elaborate?

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by Eric (had 467 views)

Xceed Support

There is no need for you to create a datarow and add it to the items collection; you can simply pass your object instance to the collection and a DataRow will be created for it. How the content of a cell is displayed (by default) depends on the data type of the corresponding cell. For example, when an instance of an object that contains a boolean property is added to the items collection, it will be displayed as a checkbox.

If you are still having issues, I suggest you take a look at the Object Model Overview in the documentation as well as the Providing Data topics.