Home Forums WinForms controls Xceed Grid for WinForms Removing a Column

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    #14092 |

Anyone run into a problem trying to remove some unnecessary columns?

Is there a way to remove a column from the designer view?
    i have a master/detail grid, and i do not want to show the 2 ID fields that are linking the two tables…

So i need to remove the first column from the master grid, and the first column from the DetailGrid, any way to do that in the designer? or is there only code you can call on startup to remove the first columns?

Thanks

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by Artmic (had 8504 views)

User (Old forums)

Can you just set the visible property to false on the column you wish to hide?

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by bluffrat (had 683 views)

User (Old forums)

Actually all it does is put like a red line on the column, but it still appears on the grid when i run the application.

Still no luck with it, i am probably forgetting something.

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by Artmic (had 179 views)

User (Old forums)

I find it easier to do everything within the code myself, that way it is explicit and you always know what is going on, especially as things grow more complex. My feeling was that the grid designer was for people who weren’t really programmers, but wanted to get something simple up and running quickly.

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by IdleHand (had 246 views)

User (Old forums)

Yes i’m sure there are lots of things you can do in code, 🙂 The reason for getting this grid is to save time on development, not only its features.

Actually if you have a massive project, the visual designer is a bonus, one less grid to worry about configuring, and one less thing to worry about in terms of debugging.