Home Forums WinForms controls Xceed Grid for WinForms Master detail using collections

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    #15175 |

Hello,

I am trying to show a bound master detail relationship between two collections. I have a master collection called products. Each item in the product collection has it’s own collection called Features.

I wanted to set up the grid so that the master table shows all of the products and the details show all of the features for each product.

Each feature item contains a property called ProductID, which is also in each Product Item that can be used to link them.

Thanks..

..Joe..

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by Testing (had 9614 views)

User (Old forums)

This is possible. What you need is to have a “Feature” property (field) within the Products collection which in fact contains the Features collection. So each product will have its own Feature list. This is how the relationship is established between two lists. Then you bind the grids the following way :

Master.SetDataBinding( Products, “” );
    Detail.SetDataBinding( null, “Features” );

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by André (had 4210 views)

User (Old forums)

Thanks,

it worked perfectly.

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by Testing (had 666 views)

User (Old forums)

hi
    i have one question about type of collection to use in such kind of master-detail grids.
    In my application i use collection TradersList inherited from BindingList<TraderSO>
    TraderSO have property DetailsSymbol, which is SymbolList collection inherited from BindingList<SymbolSO>
    TradersList and SymbolList implements ITypedList interface

in application i set binding use following code
    TSO = new TradersList();
    gridTSO.SetDataBinding(TSO, “”);
    detailGridTSO_S.SetDataBinding(null, “DetailsSymbol”);