Home Forums .NET libraries Xceed Zip & Real-Time Zip for .NET Help with tar.gz file

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    #20477 |

Newbie here trying to extract tar.gz file in VB.NET 4.0.  My source file is  “C:\…\pickup\4NCrecords.SC_1337738401.tar.gz” and the target file inside is   “C:\…\pickup\4NCrecords.SC_1337738401.csv”.  The numbered part of the filename will change daily.

So far I have this from Xceed help files:

Public Shared Sub UnTar()
      Dim diskFile As New DiskFile(“C:\My_Documents\NCID\DDS\SouthCarolina\data\pickup\4NCrecords.SC_1337738401.tar.gz”)
      Dim gzip As New GZippedFile(diskFile)
      Dim tar As New TarArchive(gzip)
      Dim file As AbstractFile
      file = tar.GetFile(“C:\My_Documents\NCID\DDS\SouthCarolina\data\pickup\4NCrecords.SC_1337738401.csv”)

If file.Exists Then
        file.Delete()
      End If

End Sub

Thanks much for any help!

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by Bil (had 1530 views)

Xceed Support

Hi Bil,

I’m not clear as to what your requirements are as there is no question. If you require any help with simple commands on tarring and untarring, you can always refer to the Xceed FileSystem Snippet Explorer. In the application, you will find various topics concerning the Xceed components that use the FileSystem architecture that we provide. You can find the application installed on your machine. If you have installed the component and left the directories to the default ones, then you should be able to find it here:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Xceed\Xceed Zip for .NET v5.1\Bin\Xceed.FileSystem.SnippetExplorer.exe

In the executable, you can quickly go to topic #5 for the use of the Tar classes. You can find an example for basic scenarios when dealing with tar files. Remember, you are not limited to the functionality shown in the snippet explorer. You can find more information in the online documentation. If you have any more questions, please feel free to ask!