Home Forums WinForms controls Xceed Grid for WinForms CellEditor Property?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    #13893 |

Forgive me — I’m very new to Xceed, so there is probably a very simple solution to this problem.

That said, I’ve created a GridControl that will be used entirely for data entry. I manually added columns (by right-clicking and selecting “Add column (unbound)”) for each. I set the data type for each Column control and am seeing some CellEditors and validation happening (for dates and numeric data types) when I run the app.

So far so good.

However, I’d like to set a MaxLength for some Column controls that are String DataTypes and I can’t seem figure out how to do it. What I’ve seen says that the GridTextBox CellEditor has a MaxLength property. But, I can’t assign that as the CellEditor (which I believe it should be by default for a cell that’s a string data type). I don’t have CellEditor (or CellViewer, for that matter) as properties of either the DataCell or the Column. I tried manually adding it in the InitializeComponent procedure behind the scenes, but it was removed when I went back into the GUI editor and returned to the code.

In the documentation, I ended up at the “Implementing the ICellEditor Interface” article, which is why I tried to manually update the code, as indicated above.

Also, I searched the samples documentation and got no results with “GridTextBox” or “MaxLength” and the same article as above for “CellEditor”.

Any help would be appreciated!

Imported from legacy forums. Posted by billmonti (had 3536 views)

User (Old forums)

You should never put your own code in InitializeComponent: it will always be removed by the Forms Designer. You can put it in the constructor of the Form, right after the call to InitializeComponent. Or, if you don’t want to put too much code in the constructor, create your own method and call that from the constructor. It would look like this:<code>public class MyForm : Form